Category Archives: Tech

Weekly readings 02/28/17

TOOLS OF THE TRADE: Computer Science Distilled, Chapter 2: Complexity: https://css-tricks.com/computer-science-distilled-chapter-2-complexity/ Check Out Our New Guide to Learning JavaScript: https://code.tutsplus.com/articles/check-out-our-new-guide-to-learning-javascript–cms-28187 Top JavaScript Frameworks & Topics to Learn in 2017: https://medium.com/javascript-scene/top-javascript-frameworks-topics-to-learn-in-2017-700a397b711 Not An Imposter: Fighting Front-End Fatigue: https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2016/11/not-an-imposter-fighting-front-end-fatigue/ JavaScript: 2016 in … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Tech, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

SPACEX Interplanetary Transport System

Elon Musk just made a big announcement. Have to say the video gave me goosebumps:

Posted in Space, Tech, Travel | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Weekly Readings 09/23/16

TOOLS OF THE TRADE: The path of software development craftsmanship: https://rainsoft.io/the-path-of-software-development-craftsmanship/ How to master computer science, minus the student loans: https://www.engadget.com/2016/09/14/master-computer-science/ Understanding REST And RPC For HTTP APIs: https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2016/09/understanding-rest-and-rpc-for-http-apis/ 30 Acronyms Web Developers Should Know: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/web-dev-acronyms/ What every JavaScript developer … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Data, Javascript, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly readings

TOOLS OF THE TRADE: Real-life Javascript Generators: https://medium.com/developers-writing/real-life-javascript-generators-80c810f82c5c Introducing Sign in with Slack: https://medium.com/slack-developer-blog/introducing-sign-in-with-slack-290949e1c3f5#.az0e1foe4 Lazy Loading Images? Don’t Rely On JavaScript! http://robinosborne.co.uk/2016/05/16/lazy-loading-images-dont-rely-on-javascript/ AMA with Chris Coyier: https://hashnode.com/ama/with-chris-coyier-cinbiuq3s00148i534gxu4me3 Pagination Best Practices: https://uxplanet.org/pagination-best-practices-76fbd3f5a78d#.w45bvfz5e What Do I Need to Know to Ace a … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly readings

I slacked again!!!! TOOLS OF THE TRADE: DeckHub, a desktop client for GitHub: https://getdeckhub.com/ The Future of JavaScript: 2016 and Beyond: http://code.tutsplus.com/tutorials/the-future-of-javascript-2016-and-beyond–cms-26305 7 Things Every Designer Needs to Know about Accessibility: https://medium.com/salesforce-ux/7-things-every-designer-needs-to-know-about-accessibility-64f105f0881b Overapi: a curated collection of code cheat sheets: … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Tech | Leave a comment

Mid-week readings

Well I have too many tabs open so I need to consolidate some #SAVEFORLATER readings here. CAREERS: Future-proof your IT career: 8 tech areas that will still be hot in 2020: http://www.computerworld.com/article/2885892/future-proof-your-it-career-8-tech-areas-that-will-still-be-hot-in-2020.html TOOLS OF THE TRADE: The Rundown: Bootstrap vs. … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly reading 12/11/15

Aaaaand we’re back! And have some catching up to do… 🙁 Because my Python/Data Science course got cancelled 🙂 Because that means I can work on my holiday shopping CODE: How to Build a Todo App Using React, Redux, and … Continue reading

Posted in Code, Data, GIS, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly Reading 11/13/15

CODE: The HTML & CSS Workmanship Manual: http://workmanship.io/ Things To Avoid When Writing CSS: https://medium.com/@Heydon/things-to-avoid-when-writing-css-1a222c43c28f What Specifically is CSS Specificity: http://zurb.com/university/lessons/what-specifically-is-css-specificity? Web Developer Reading List: Learning Sass with CodePen: http://thenewcode.com/112/Web-Developer-Reading-List-Learning-Sass-with-CodePen 10 Habits of a Happy Node Hacker (2016): http://blog.heroku.com/archives/2015/11/10/node-habits-2016 TOOLS … Continue reading

Posted in Code, GIS, Javascript, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly Reading 11/06/15

HOW IS IT ALREADY NOVEMBER??? CODE: New Course: Introduction to Python: http://code.tutsplus.com/articles/new-course-introduction-to-python–cms-24926 Starting with LESS CSS and Bootstrap – Part 1: blog.exsilio.com/all/starting-with-less-css-and-bootstrap-part-1/ Dive into Machine Learning with Jupyter and scikit-learn: https://github.com/hangtwenty/dive-into-machine-learning Intro to R Programming (video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkNFn6eosaU jQuery’s Relevancy – … Continue reading

Posted in Code, GIS, Tech | Leave a comment

Weekly reading 10/31/15

CODE: Things To Avoid When Writing CSS: https://medium.com/@Heydon/things-to-avoid-when-writing-css-1a222c43c28f Using PostCSS Together with Sass, Stylus, or LESS: http://webdesign.tutsplus.com/tutorials/using-postcss-together-with-sass-stylus-or-less–cms-24591 TOOLS OF THE TRADE: HTTP/2: the Pros, the Cons, and What You Need to Know: http://www.sitepoint.com/http2-the-pros-the-cons-and-what-you-need-to-know/ The struggles of publishing a JavaScript library: … Continue reading

Posted in Code, GIS, Tech | Leave a comment